Unravel Me

music meme

2005-02-08
via arajane, proud owner of the kind of ipod i covet�a pink one!

I: Ten Random Songs
Instructions: Put your MP3 player on "shuffle and list the first ten songs that play, no matter how embarrassing.

1. Work It � Missy E.
2. Don't Panic � Coldplay
3. Tempted � Squeeze
4. Stinging Velvet � Neko Case
5. Seven Nation Army � White Stripes
6. Someday � The Strokes
7. Does He Love You? -- Rilo Kiley
8. Unwell � Matchbox 20
9. Can't Get You Out Of My Head � Kylie Minogue
10. Everyday I Write The Book � Elvis Costello

II: Queston and Answer Section
Read Question. Answer Question.

What is the Total Amount of Music Files On Your Computer?
I guess about 1000(?) and growing on my imac.

The last CD you bought is:
Wow, it's been a while. I think it was either "Ancient Melodies of the Future" (Built to Spill), or "A Rush of Blood to the Head" (Coldplay). Or it may have been a George Winston cd.

What is the song you last listened to before beginning this meme?
"All I Need" (Air) was on as I began typing this. Just before that was "Such Great Heights" (Iron & Wine re-mix).

III: Write down five songs you often listen to or that mean a lot to you.
Hmm, tough one--I always have difficulty picking favorites, but let's see. When I'm not mindlessly listening to the radio (either my local favorite, WNRN, or KEXP via streaming audio) the following stand out:

1. New Slang � The Shins (see explanation below)*
2. Caring Is Creepy �The Shins*
3. The Only Living Boy In New York � Simon & Garfunkel*
4. The Space Between � Dave Matthews Band. [I live in the town where the DMB began. In April '01, they returned to play at UVA's newly expanded Scott Stadium as a special "home-coming" concert. I didn't go, but I live just a few blocks away, and the sounds wafted over this way as I took in the warm spring evening air from my balcony. This was the last song of the evening, and just brings back a general flood of memories from that time in my life].

5. (Anything by Coldplay). [During my Aug. 2003 roadtrip from Seattle to Denver, my sister and I listened to many, many cd's in the car. Most of them were mixes, except for Coldplay's "Parachutes", and "A Rush of Blood to the Head", which we listened to in their entirety. I came to know the lyrics of most of them by heart as we sped across the highways of the wide open West. Something about that, and singing along (even though my singing truly sucks) was really freeing].

*(I recently saw "Garden State" and the soundtrack is good, so I've been listening to these three songs a lot).

IV. Pass this stick to three persons and explain why.
1) shadowdress (i suspect her taste in music may be quite good, considering she's friends w/ music goddess myra-lee in real life); 2) bathtubmary (though i've "known" her via d-land for 2+ years, BTM always intrigues me. plus i suspect she's got good taste in music, being that boston's music scene is far from bland); 3) ray0flight (she enjoys doing surveys).

10:26 p.m. ::
prev :: next