Unravel Me

indulging in latkes, lactobacillus & laughter

2004-12-30
having such a long vacation feels indulgent. yay for all my banked-up leave hours! i�m certain that returning to work next week will be 10x more painful than the worst post-new year�s champagne headache. *{groan}* but wait�i�ve already got a humongous headache. yet it didn�t ruin my day. why? keep reading�

today we made latkes (a.k.a. �potato pancakes�). oh how i love jewish food--mention matzos or coconut macaroons and i�m in love. and i�m not even jewish! anyway, potato pancakes have been a long-standing tradition in our household. although my mom makes them any time of the year, we always make them during the holidays. there's nothing that says you can't have latkes at christmas! i can remember being really young and having my mom explain other cultures� traditions to me, and her explaining jewish potato pancakes to me. to this day, whenever i visit my parents and mom decides to make potato pancakes, my job is to grate the potatoes. it�s well worth it. the pancakes are delicious, and go well with apple sauce. but i'll pass on the manischewitz wine. it's a bit too sweet for me.

yesterday�s acupuncture felt as good as a massage and a day at the spa and boy did i need it! he recommended i try acidophilus to strengthen my gut. does it work? we�ll see! we had a long talk, and dr. glick reminded me to be true to myself. (more on that some other time). anyway, dr. glick�s comedy duo is performing tomorrow evening at a new year�s eve show and i think it�d be really fun to go! laughter is definitely in order. i�m also doing my annual shindig featuring my bean dip and fancy drinks (recipes forthcoming). the next day will involve excessive lounging and the �hair of the dog party�, so to speak. bring on the good times!

xoxo

11:55 p. m. ::
prev :: next