Unravel Me

holy shit! and ick!

2004-02-24
holy shit! and ick!

H-O-L-Y S-H-I-T! i am floored. i live in a 1-BR apt. no in-unit washer dryer. and i just got my electric bill for the jan-feb billing cycle. i just about flipped when i opened it: $184.51...yes, you read correctly.

that's the kind of power bill my parents see each month for their house: a HOUSE, not an apartment. how much do you pay for power? i am willing to bet you've never had a power bill this outrageous.

i have never had a bill that high. ever. my highest heating bill was probably somewhere around $70 or 80. something's wrong. how the fuck did my bill more than triple when my usage pattern remained pretty constant? according to my statement, my december usage was 253 kilowatts ($30.12) but my usage for january was supposedly 2,129 kilowatts. okay, i understand it's been unusually cold so i expected my bill might be slightly higher. but this?! and i'm home less, and turn the heat down during the day now that i'm working. how this can be right? i called dominion virginia power this afternoon and asked them to send someone out to re-read my meter.

this power bill has effectively ruined my day. to make matters worse, i think i might have a slight vicodin hangover today. i caved in and took one last night because i was in so much pain. normally i try to save it as a last resort. now today i really feel like i'm gonna throw up. ick.

now if you'll excuse me so i can pick my jaw up off the floor.

6:14 p.m. ::
prev :: next