Unravel Me

driven to distraction; trivia

2003-02-26
driven to distraction; trivia...

while i was out this afternoon, i saw:

1) someone driving while brushing his teeth (yes, while at a stoplight, i looked in the rearview mirror and noticed the guy in the car behind me brushing his teeth!)

2)several people driving while talking on the phone

3)a woman driving with one hand on the steering wheel while her other hand was busy applying makeup

4)a guy eating a cheeseburger while driving

what else am i gonna see?

***************************************

today's tiger trivia:

question: what are/is your proudest accomplishment(s)?

my answer: there are several, but i think the most recent achievement i'm proud of is graduating at the top of my class, with highest honors from my master's program. not in a million years did i ever imagine i'd end up ranked 1st in grad school. i never dreamed of it. ever.

its real meaningfulness for me is that it proved that while my body fails me in frustrating ways, i still have mental clarity. in fact, in an odd way, my type of disability has taught me that i have more mental sharpness and agility than i ever realized before all of this. in fact, it's during some of my worst flare-ups that i've had some of my most lucid moments. so, it taught me if i can't depend on my physical stamina and strength, at least i can (maybe) count on clear thinking. still, graduation day was very bittersweet b/c despite all the kudos, i realized my body was failing me and that things really weren't right b/c i was progressively getting worse.

the second thing my success in grad. school drove home was the quality of my undergrad. education. i think that having the (liberal arts) foundation i received taught me to think and write in certain ways and helped me synthesize information in a way that grad. school required.

7:42 p.m. ::
prev :: next