Unravel Me

flying into darkness

2003-02-11
flying into darkness...

welcome to what is now my secret diary!

**today's fact about me**

question: do you have any phobias/fears?

answer: yes, a few, but i'll only mention one of them today. i've never told a soul about this one--i'm really ashamed b/c i *know* it's not rational.

since sometime during the 1990's i've been a somewhat fearful flyer. i don't avoid it altogether, but one of my least favorite things is flying at night into darkness. it gives me the most insecure, terrifying feeling when the plane pushes back from the gate (esp. at night) and i feel myself being pulled backwards like there's no turning back. and i don't do well w/ turbulence, although i finally bought these special wrist bands that can be worn on boats, planes, etc. the other thing i hate is the claustrophobic feeling in those tiny coach class seats, with everyone cramped into the cabin like a can of sardines. my heart races, etc... in the past, i've taken ambien (for long flights) or dramamine (for shorter ones) to help ease anxiety and all of the accompanying symptoms. that way i can be asleep or at least very spaced out at take-off. the thing is, i love to travel!!!

wow. did i actually type this out and come forward with this?

hopefully no one ridicules me or judges me negatively after reading this. i'd like to think i'm stronger than my fears even though they make me think i'm all alone in having them.

3:33 p.m. ::
prev :: next